Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 21-002    Version: 1 Name:
Type: Information/Discussion Item Status: Agenda Ready
File created: 12/4/2020 In control: City Council
On agenda: 1/5/2021 Final action:
Title: Oath of Office - Council Members.
Attachments: 1. 1 - Hyperlink - Charter Section 4.1, 2. 2 - Hyperlink - MN Stat. 358.08
Date Ver.Action ByActionResultAction DetailsMeeting DetailsVideo
No records to display.

City Council Meeting Date: January 5, 2021  


To:                        Mayor and City Council

                     City Administrator


From:   Lynette Peterson, City Clerk




Oath of Office - Council Members.


Action Requested:                     



Summary Report:

Section 4.1 of the City Charter requires that at the first meeting in January newly elected members of the council be administered the oath of office as the first order of business.  Council Members Brad Ness, Jami Reister and George Zuccolotto and Mayor Rhonda Pownell will be sworn into office.


Alternative Options:

Minnesota Statutes §358.08 provide for an affirmation in lieu of the oath of office.  Each Council Member is allowed to choose whether they would like the oath of office or the affirmation in lieu of the oath. 


Financial Impacts:                     



Tentative Timelines:                     

The oath of office is required to be administered at the first meeting in January.