

# Legislation Text

#### File #: 19-629, Version: 1

## City Council Meeting Date: January 8, 2019

To: City Council City Administrator

From: Mayor Rhonda Pownell

Consider Approval of Board/Commission and Council Appointments.

#### **Action Requested:**

The Northfield City Council approves the following board/commission and Council appointments:

Arts & Culture Commission

- Cynthia Gilbertson reappointed to the Arts & Culture Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Mark Gleason reappointed to the Arts & Culture Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Arnab Chakladar appointed to the Arts & Culture Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021

Economic Development Authority

- Mike Strobel appointed to the Economic Development Authority for a six-year term ending December 31, 2024
- Jessica Peterson White reappointed to the Economic Development Authority for a term ending December 31, 2022.

Environmental Quality Commission

- Janet Petri reappointed to the Environmental Quality Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- A. Joseph Hopwood appointed to the Environmental Quality Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Erica Zweifel appointed to the Environmental Quality Commission as an ex-officio (non voting) Council liaison

Heritage Preservation Commission

- Barbara Evans reappointed to the Heritage Preservation Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Jason Menard reappointed to the Heritage Preservation Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Jan Gilblom appointed to the Heritage Preservation Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021

Housing and Redevelopment Authority

• Jayne Hager Dee reappointed to the Housing and Redevelopment Authority for a five year term ending December 31, 2023

#### File #: 19-629, Version: 1

Library Board

- Cathy Oehmke appointed to the Library Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Thelma Estrada appointed to the Library Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- William "Bill" Johnson appointed to the Library Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Mason Randall appointed to the Library Board to fill a vacancy for a term ending December 31, 2020
- Robert Anderson appointed to the Library Board for to fill a vacancy for a term ending December 31, 2019

# Northfield Alliance for Substance Abuse Prevention (NASAP)

- Jim Anway appointed to NASAP for a one-year term ending December 31, 2019
- Ryan Van Gundy appointed to NASAP for a one-year term ending December 31, 2019
- Patrick Gordon appointed to NASAP for a two-year term ending December 31, 2020
- Shelly Dickinson appointed to NASAP for a two-year term ending December 31, 2020
- Steve Towler appointed to NASAP for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Lisa Mattson-Halvorson appointed to NASAP for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Michelle Dumonceaux appointed to NASAP for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Curt Benson appointed to NASAP as a non-voting member.
- Kathy Cooper appointed to NASAP as a non-voting member.

Northfield Area Fire and Rescue Services Joint Powers Board

- Elisabeth Haase appointed to the Northfield Area Fire and Rescue Services Joint Powers Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Brad Ness appointed to the Northfield Area Fire and Rescue Services Joint Powers Board to fill a vacated term ending December 31, 2019

Northfield Hospital Board

- Robert Shepley appointed to the Northfield Hospital Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Sarah Carlsen appointed to the Northfield Hospital Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Jessica Peterson White appointed to the Northfield Hospital Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021

Park & Recreation Advisory Board

- Daniel Hollerung reappointed to the Park & Recreation Advisory Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021
- Megan Kraby appointed to the Park & Recreation Advisory Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2021

Planning Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals

- Tracy Heisler reappointed to the Planning Commission & Zoning Board of Appeals for a three year term ending December 31, 2021
- Joe Gasior reappointed to the Planning Commission & Zoning Board of Appeals for a three year term ending December 31, 2021
- Greg Siems appointed to the Planning Commission & Zoning Board of Appeals for a three year term ending December 31, 2021
- Terri Jensen appointed to the Planning Commission & Zoning Board of Appeals to fill a vacancy for a term ending December 31, 2019
- Suzie Nakasian appointed to the Planning Commission & Zoning Board of Appeals as an advisory member (ex-officio non voting member)

Climate Action Plan Advisory Board

- George Kinney appointed to the Climate Action Plan Advisory Board as a voting member to fill a vacancy.
- Clarice Grabau appointed to the Climate Action Plan Advisory Board as a non voting, ex-officio Council liaison replacing Brad Ness.

Convention and Visitors Bureau

- Brad Ness appointed to the Convention and Visitors Bureau for a one year term ending December 31, 2019
- Jenni Roney appointed to the Convention and Visitors Bureau for a one year term ending December 31, 2019

Mill Towns Trail Joint Powers Board

- Suzie Nakasian reappointed to the Mill Towns Trail Joint Powers Board for a one-year term ending December 31, 2019
- Erica Zweifel appointed to the Mill Towns Trail Joint Powers Board for a one-year term ending December 31, 2019

Rice/Steele 911 Center Board

- Brad Ness appointed to the Rice/Steele 911 Center Board for a one-year term ending December 31, 2019
- Suzie Nakasian appointed to the Rice/Steel 911 Joint Powers Board as an alternate for 2019 Rice County Community & Justice Council
- Rhonda Pownell

Beyond the Yellow Ribbon

- David DeLong Council Liaison
- Northfield Promise
- Clarice Grabau Council Liaison Age Friendly
- David DeLong Council Liaison Mayor's Youth Council
- Rhonda Pownell Council Liaison
- Hiawathaland Transit Advisory Committee
- Suzie Nakasian

Finance Policy Subcommittee

- David DeLong appointed to the Finance Policy Subcommittee as the Chairperson
- Brad Ness appointed to the Finance Policy Subcommittee
- Clarice Grabau appointed to the Finance Policy Subcommittee
- Bron Scherer appointed to the Finance Policy Subcommittee as an ex-officio community member liaison

Council City Employment Committee

- David DeLong appointed to the Council City Employment Committee as the Chairperson
- Clarice Grabau appointed to the Council City Employment Committee
- Rhonda Pownell appointed to the Council City Employment Committee

Northfield Hospital Birth Center and Clinic Expansion Interview Team and Design Team

• Erica Zweifel

# File #: 19-629, Version: 1

## **Summary Report:**

The City Council is being asked to approve the appointments as noted above. Additional appointments will be forthcoming at future meetings. Copies of the proposed appointees' applications are attached. The City received 67 applications. As part of the process, I met with available applicants for approximately 30 minutes each over the course of 11 days. These meetings provided me with a chance to get to know new applicants as well as provided a check-in time for those that I already know or that were re-applying for a position.

Alternative Options: N/A

**Financial Impacts:** N/A

**Tentative Timelines:** N/A