

City of Northfield

City Hall 801 Washington Street Northfield, MN 55057 northfieldmn.gov

Legislation Text

File #: Res. 2017-108, Version: 1

City Council Meeting Date: December 5, 2017

To: Mayor and City Council

City Administrator

From: Deb Little, City Clerk

Consider approving designation of City of Northfield polling places for 2018.

Action Requested:

The Northfield City Council approves a <u>resolution</u> designating polling locations for 2018.

Summary Report:

A law change in 2017 requires municipalities to designate polling places for each election precinct before December 31 of each year. The entire text of the section is noted below. Staff has received confirmation from six of the eight existing polling locations that as of right now we will be able to continue to use their space for the 2018 elections. The law allows changes to polling locations if needed. Staff will bring forward a new resolution if changes are needed.

Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 204B.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Authority; location.

By December 31 of each year, the governing body of each municipality and of each county with precincts in unorganized territory shall <u>must</u> designate by ordinance or resolution a polling place for each election precinct. The polling places designated in the ordinance or resolution are the polling places for the following calendar year, unless a change is made:

- (1) pursuant to section 204B.175; (Note: 204B.175 relates to emergencies)
- (2) because a polling place has become unavailable; or
- (3) because a township designates one location for all state and federal elections and one location for all township only elections.

Alternative Options:

None.

Financial Impacts:

There are no financial impacts related to this item.

Tentative Timelines:

File #: Res. 2017-108.	Version: 1	1
------------------------	------------	---

The law change is effective January 1, 2018, but we are required to submit a resolution designating polling locations to Rice and Dakota County before December 31.