

City of Northfield

City Hall 801 Washington Street Northfield, MN 55057 northfieldmn.gov

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-314 Version: 1 Name:

Type:MotionStatus:PassedFile created:6/7/2018In control:City CouncilOn agenda:6/19/2018Final action:6/19/2018

Title: Consider Mayoral Appointment to the Hiawathaland Transit Advisory Committee

Sponsors:

Indexes: Mayoral Appointments

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/19/2018	1	City Council	approve	

City Council Meeting Date: June 19, 2018

To: Mayor and City Council

From: City Administrator

Consider Mayoral Appointment to the Hiawathaland Transit Advisory Committee

Action Requested:

The Northfield City Council approves a <u>Motion</u> to confirm Mayoral appointment of Councilor Suzie Nakasian to the Hiawathaland Transit Advisory Committee

Summary Report:

Mayor Pownell is appointing Councilor Suzie Nakasian to the Hiawathaland Transit Advisory Committee. The Hiawathaland Transit Advisory Committee meets to provide guidance to the Three Rivers Community Action Board related to transit needs in the system. They meet on a quarterly basis and rotate locations throughout the system. Their next meeting is scheduled for August 9, 2018, in Zumbrota. Northfield does not have an official representative for the Northfield System as listed at the end of this memo. Director of Public Works/City Engineer Bennett has regularly attended these meetings as a representative. He will still attend dependent on topics and availability as an interested staff party to the system.

The City of Northfield has identified transit enhancements as a goal within the City's Strategic Plan (2018-2022). The recent routes from Lonsdale have increased ridership locally and the Northfield Transit Hub has recently been identified as a third listed priority to pursue in their "short term goals" from a February 2018 board minutes. City staff is exploring funding with Hiawathaland through a MnDOT grant and we are also exploring other potential funding options as well.

The timing is very appropriate as it relates to several initiatives underway with the Hiawathaland Transit Advisory Committee. Three Rivers Community Action Executive Director Jennifer Larson is currently exploring expanding the advisory role of the Hiawathaland Transit Advisory Committee beyond what it has provided in recent history. Additionally, MnDOT is beginning strategic planning for transit across the state and this committee will be involved in

File #: 18-314, Version: 1

this review process for our region. The new elected office appointment for Northfield will serve us well in bringing more influence and awareness of opportunities around transit in Northfield and the region.

Hiawathaland Organization Background

Three Rivers Community Action is a nonprofit human service organization created by local citizens and incorporated in 1966. Three Rivers' mission is "to work with community partners to address basic human needs of people in our service area, thereby improving the quality of life of the individual, family and community."

Hiawathaland Transit is operated by Three Rivers, and is available to everyone for any reason. People of all ages ride our buses to go places like school, work, the grocery store, doctor's office, pharmacy, or library. Their buses can transport anyone anywhere within city limits.

Hiawathaland Public Transit Advisory Committee

CANNON FALLS SYSTEM:

Rodney Holst, Cannon Falls City Council Aaron Reeves, City Administrator (alternate)

LAKE CITY SYSTEM:

Jerry Dunbar, Lake City Mayor Andru Peters, Lake City City Council (TAC Vice Chairperson)

PLAINVIEW/ELGIN SYSTEM:

Larry Fix, Plainview Mayor Bill Goede, Plainview City Council (alternate) Richard Hall, Elgin Mayor

WABASHA/KELLOGG SYSTEM:

David Schmidt, City Administrator

RED WING SYSTEM:

Dennis Egan, Red Wing Mayor Dan Bender, Red Wing City Council

ZUMBROTA SYSTEM:

Neil Jensen, City Administrator

MAZEPPA SYSTEM:

Duane Hofschulte, City Administrator

FARIBAULT SYSTEM:

Kim Lang, Community Development Director

WABASHA COUNTY BOARD:

Deb Roschen, County Commissioner

File #: 18-314, Version: 1

GOODHUE COUNTY BOARD:

James Bryant, County Commissioner (TAC Chairperson) Richard Samuelson, County Commissioner

THREE RIVERS COMMUNITY ACTION BOARD:

Julie Steberg, Three Rivers Community Action, Inc.

GOVERNING BOARD ALTERNATE:

Carol Scott, Three Rivers Community Action, Inc.

GOVERNING BOARD AT-LARGE REPRESENTATIVE:

Dave Windhorst

Alternative Options:

None recommended

Financial Impacts:

Not applicable

Tentative Timelines:

Not applicable.