

City of Northfield

City Hall 801 Washington Street Northfield, MN 55057 northfieldmn.gov

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-268 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Motion Status: Passed

File created: 4/26/2018 In control: City Council

On agenda: 5/15/2018 Final action:

Title: Approve Mayoral Appointments

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

City Council Meeting Date: May 15, 2018

To: City Council

City Administrator

From: Mayor Pownell

Approve Mayoral Appointments

Action Requested:

The City Council approves the following youth appointments:

Arts & Culture Commission

Harper Bechtel - non voting youth representative Ann Beimers (c) - voting member Hannah Singh (c)- non voting youth representative Robby Swenson - non voting youth representative

Economic Development Authority

Alex Baraniak - non voting youth representative Daniel Monaghan - non voting youth representative

Environmental Quality Commission

Katie Schroerr (c) - voting member Nicholas Boehning - non voting youth representative

Heritage Preservation Commission

Logan Ledman (c) - voting member Evan Orjala - non voting youth representative File #: 18-268, Version: 1

Housing & Redevelopment Authority

Mila Matney - non voting youth representative Colin Bandy - non voting youth representative

Human Rights Commission

Keara Cooney (c) - non voting youth representative Isaac Riggins (c) - voting member Hannah Ringlien - non voting youth representative Chloe Thomas-Green - non voting youth representative

Library Board

Neina Abdulai (c) - non voting youth representative Max Gordon-Mercer - non voting youth representative Teagan Watkins (c)- voting member

Northfield Alliance for Substance Abuse Prevention (formerly known as Mayor's Task Force on Youth Alcohol & Drug Use)

Emily Boland (c)- voting member Elias Kruse (c)- voting member Andrew Pahs (c) - voting member Nancy Vega - voting member

Mayor's Youth Council (all voting members)

Greenlee Dahle Celine Falcon Geist Anders Larson

Riley Ledman

Ryan Malecha

Athziri Marcial Rodriguez (c)

Celia Meagher (c)

Dan Nelson (c)

Angie Oscal Orrego (c)

Audrey Pagel

Angelo Perez (c)

Caroline Peterson (c)

Caroline Pritchard (c)

Sam Ryden (c)

Isabella (Ella) Schmidt

Molly Stevens (c)

Eli Voland

Logan Wells (c)

Park & Recreation Advisory Board

Abby Borene (c)- voting member Rodrigo Ortiz - non voting youth representative

Planning Commission

Arlie Lee - non voting youth representative Marta Sorenson - non voting youth representative File #: 18-268, Version: 1

(c) = returning member

Summary Report:

The City Council is being asked to approve the youth appointments as noted above. The MYC and youth appointees to boards and commissions act in an advisory capacity to the boards, commissions and City Council for the purposes of advising these groups on perspectives and issues important to Northfield youth in order to assure a youth voice in civic affairs, and working with community partners and other youth initiatives to help design and recommend solutions and options to address opportunities and areas of concern in the Northfield community. Youth members are appointed/reappointed annually. Applications to serve on the MYC, boards and commissions are completed and submitted to the Adult Advisor, Meleah Follen. The applications are assembled by the Adult Advisor and anonymously submitted for review and scoring by the current members of the MYC and the Adult Advisor. Recommendations for appointments to fill vacant or expired positions are made to the Mayor based on scores and the desire to create a MYC, and appointees to boards and commissions, that are gender, ethnic and age diverse. Members shall thereafter be appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of the City Council.