

City of Northfield

City Hall 801 Washington Street Northfield, MN 55057 northfieldmn.gov

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:

PC M2018-

Version: 1

Name:

Type:

001 PC Motion

Status:

Agenda Ready

File created:

1/12/2018

In control:

Planning Commission

On agenda:

3/15/2018

Final action:

Title:

Election of Officers

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/15/2018	1	Planning Commission	approve	Pass

Date: February 15, 2018

To: Members of the Planning Commission

From: Scott Tempel, City Planner

Election of Officers

Action Requested:

The Planning Commission is requested to elect officers for 2018.

Summary Report:

Within the first four meetings of the calendar year, or as soon as practical thereafter, voting members of the Commission shall select a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson, each to serve throughout the year and until a successor is chosen.

Officers and Duties:

- 1. Chairperson: The Chairperson, with the assistance of Staff, shall see that members of the Commission are notified in ample time, of the time, place and purpose of any meeting. The Chairperson shall:
 - Preside at meetings of the Commission;
 - Call special meetings as provided in Chapter 34, Article 4, Section 4.2.1;
 - Appoint standing and other committees;
 - Arrange meetings with technical advisors and property owners or others who have personal interest in proposed recommendations;
 - Communicate with City officials as occasion requires;
 - Report pertinent findings; and,
 - Give leadership to the Commission.
- 2. Vice-Chairperson: In the absence of the Chairperson or at the request of the Chairperson, any or all of the duties of the Chairperson shall be performed by the Vice-Chairperson.

File #: PC M2018-001, Version: 1

3. Secretary: A City Staff member will be assigned to perform the functions of secretary. The secretary shall keep a record of the proceedings of every meeting of the Planning Commission and/or Zoning Board of Appeals.

The current Planning Commission Chairperson is Joe Gasior and the Vice-Chairperson is Will Schroeer. Mikayla Fischer serves as the Planning Commission Secretary.

Alternative Options:

- 1. The commission could vote to keep current officers.
- 2. The commission could choose to defer the election to a future date.