

City of Northfield

City Hall 801 Washington Street Northfield, MN 55057 ci.northfield.mn.us

Meeting Minutes - Draft Economic Development Authority

Thursday, October 27, 2016

7:30 AM

EDA Meeting

Rollcall

Present: 4 - Todd Bornhauser, Britt Ackerman, Dale Gehring and Richard Jackson

Absent: 3 - Fred Rogers, Dana Graham and David Ludescher

Note

Also present: City Administrator Ben Martig, Community Planning & Development Director Chris Heineman, NEC Executive Director Chris Whillock, NEC Board of Directors Vice President Donna Rae Scheffert, Administrative Assistant Mikayla Fischer, and Youth Representatives Cooper Nelson and Olaf Sorenson.

I. Call to Order and Approval of Agenda

A motion was made by Board Member Gehring, seconded by Board Member Ackerman, to approve the agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 4 - Vice President Bornhauser, Board Member Ackerman, Board Member Gehring and Board Member Jackson

II. Approval of Minutes

1. <u>16-474</u> 09-22-16 Draft EDA Meeting Minutes

Attachments: 09-22-2016 EDA Meeting Minutes

A motion was made by Board Member Gehring, seconded by Board Member Jackson, to approve the 09-22-2016 EDA minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 4 - Vice President Bornhauser, Board Member Ackerman, Board Member Gehring and Board Member Jackson

2. <u>16-475</u> September 2016 EDA Financials

<u>Attachments:</u> 1 - September 2016 Revenue & Expense Report

2 - EDA Loan Statement - September 2016

Heineman reviewed the loan report for September. He stated all loans are current and one loan has been completed. Heineman stated the revenue and expense report shows the EDA has spent 41% of their 2016 budget which is largely due to personnel services not fully utilized this year.

III. New Business Items

3. 16-476 NEC Quarterly Report and Consideration of 2017 Contract

Attachments: 1 - NEC Services Contract 2015-2016

2 - 2017 NEC Proposal

Heineman introduced Whillock to review the NEC quarterly report. Whillock reviewed his PowerPoint covering the history of the NEC, its mission statement, benefits the NEC provides to the community, scope of services, and testimonials.

Heineman asked the EDA members to discuss the terms of the NEC contract to help move forward with the 2017 budget. Martig stated with the new staff person coming he would recommend a one year commitment with \$45,000 as a contribution.

Gehring supports a reduction of funds to the NEC next year because of the new staff person and a stronger Chamber. Jackson would support current funding for a year and then review if the full funding is needed after having the new EDA staff person. Ackerman supports a one year contract, would like to see the NEC fully funded, then have a work session to coordinate ideas, roles and make adjustments for 2018. Bornhauser stated he would like to ask for the full levy amount and then decide how much to spend in certain areas based on the operating budget and the role of the EDA staff person.

The EDA members concluded they would like to have a work session (with the entire board) to discuss how the NEC and EDA staff person will impact allocating funds for the 2017 EDA budget.

IV. Reports and Discussion Items

- a) Commissioner Comments and Reports
- b) Staff Updates and Reports
- c) Comments from the Chair

Heineman reviewed the Micropolitian Summit in Owatonna he attended with Jackson and Bornhauser. He stated Owatonna is providing all the storm sewer improvements and moving aggressively to have shovel ready sites.

Heineman stated the Marriot hotel ground breaking is set to happen this spring, he met with Xcel Energy representatives on creating shovel ready sites, the Ryt-Way building is listed with Cerron Properties and an environmental related business is interested in the site.

Bornhouser thanked Whillock and Donna Rae Scheffert for coming to the meeting.

V. Adjournment

A motion was made by Board Member Ackerman, seconded by Board Member Gehring, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 4 - Vice President Bornhauser, Board Member Ackerman, Board Member Gehring and Board Member Jackson