

City of Northfield

City Hall 801 Washington Street Northfield, MN 55057 northfieldmn.gov

Meeting Minutes - Draft Arts & Culture Commission

Monday, May 8, 2023 6:00 PM Council Chambers

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 by Chair Granquist.

Present: 7 - Paula Granquist, Martha Anderson, Kate Woodstrup, Sam Nelson, Andrea Sjogren,

Anna Lisa Rustad and George Brophy

Absent: 1 - Leah Rich

ALSO PRESENT: Genevieve Tassava (Youth), Seth Knutson (Youth), Carsten Walter (Youth), Natalie Draper (Staff Liaison and Library Director), Kathy Rush Vizina (Clerical Liaison).

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Anderson, seconded by Rustad, to approve the agenda for the May 8 2023 ACC meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Granquist, Anderson, Woodstrup, Nelson, Sjogren, Rustad and Brophy

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Woodstrup, seconded by Brophy, to approve the minutes of the April 10, 2023 ACC Meeting without change. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Granquist, Anderson, Woodstrup, Nelson, Sjogren, Rustad and Brophy

1. Approval of April 10, 2023 Arts and Culture Commission Minutes

Attachments: ACC April 10 2023 Minutes DRAFT

PRESENTATIONS

2. Discuss Bridge Square Design Development

<u>Attachments:</u> 2023-04-27-Commission Meeting Presentation

A presentation to the ACC by Tom Whitlock from Damon Farber, architects regarding the design of Bridge Square Park. They have spoken to different groups that use the park to how they use the park and how it could be improved. He showed the commissioners proposed changes to Bridge Square.

Regine Kenny and Tisha Allen from the 106 Group also presented to the Commissioners and showed them the process they followed. They also looked at the various uses of Bridge Square currently and how it can be used in the future. Regine talked about the Riverfront Design Principles. They based their theme that Bridge Square connects

people and defines this public gathering place.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

REGULAR AGENDA

3. Poet Laureate Interim Appointment

Attachments: Northfield Poet Laureate Report April 2023

Rob Hardy the current Laureate has recommended that the ACC appoint Becky Boling and D.E. Green as interim Poet Laureates while he is out of the country. A more formal search can be conducted for a new Poet Laureate in 2024.

A motion was made by Anderson, seconded by Sjogren, to approve the appointment of Becky Boling and D.E. Green as interim Poet Laureates while Rob Hardy is out of the country. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Granquist, Anderson, Woodstrup, Nelson, Sjogren, Rustad and Brophy

4. Approve 1% for the arts funding for Hispanic Heritage Month Banners.

A motion was made by Nelson, seconded by Rustad, to approve 1% for the arts funding of \$1,500 to pay an artist to design a Hispanic Heritage Month Banner for the city. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Granquist, Anderson, Woodstrup, Nelson, Sjogren, Rustad and Brophy

STAFF UPDATES

Staff Report on Public Art and Creative Placemaking.

Attachments: Staff report

Bee sign 4-20-2023 proof

Bench sign 4-13-23 proof

Butterfly sign 4-20-2023 proof

Dedication sign 4-13-23 proof

Bodiodion sign 1 10 20 proof

Dragonfly sign 4-20-2023 proof

The Gardens 4-13-23 proof

Cecilia Cornejo will attend next months meeting to give an update on her projects.

BOARD MEMBER AND COMMISSIONER REPORTS

Anderson reported on the branding workshop she attended. Vibrant, charming, and creative were the terms they decided described Northfield.

Brophy reported on the HRA May meeting. HRA is talking about building some new housing south of town. Nelson went to Youth at the Capital and enjoyed the day. Rustad has been following Park and Rec and has not been successful at finding the minutes.

Granquist reported on the EQC, and the Planning Commission.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Brophy, seconded by Sjogren, to adjourn the meeting at 7:30. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Granquist, Anderson, Woodstrup, Nelson, Sjogren, Rustad and Brophy